Skip to content

“Find out who you are, and do it on purpose”: A Letter to the Incoming Class of 2014

May 8, 2010

May 8, 2010 – Graduation Day

Megan Russell, Class of 2010, reflects on her 4 years at Dominican, and writes a letter to incoming freshmen of the Class of 2014:

To a friend,

There’s a quote someone once said that goes: “Find out who you are, and do it on purpose.” You’ve probably heard from a lot of people that college is a time to experience new things and to discover who you are. For me that was most definitely true. I have learned much about who I am and who I am not. I’ve begun to discover who I want to be now and who I want to become. But know that it’s not something that has a specific end, or a beginning for that matter.

Self-discovery is a process. It takes patience and insight. It takes risk. It comes with challenges and joy. But most of all, it comes with the unknown.

After four years of college, I have a much better understanding of myself, of where I am headed in life. But I feel as though my journey has just begun. College isn’t the end-all and be-all. It is one event in a lifetime of defining moments. While some say it is the best time of your life, I disagree. If I have learned one thing that I want to pass on, it is that you can find joy, happiness, and contentment in any situation. Much of that is up to you, though. You will face many challenges and hardships in college, and in your life. Face them. They will help you grow. You will experience confusion and uncertainty. Dive into it. God will always bring you to the place you are meant to be. Don’t be in such a rush. Take the time along your journey to enjoy the simple joys in life. Take the time to laugh, to cry, to explore, to simply be. Because no matter where you go or what you do, you will always be there. You may change. You may adapt. You may feel lost at times. But God will bring you back.

Rest assured that through everything, God is with you and you are loved.

Enjoy the journey. This is your life. This is the real world. You only have one life to live.

Blessings Always,

Megan Russell

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

