Skip to content

Faith in God’s Love

December 7, 2013

The following reflection was written by Emilia Walasik, a member of University Ministry’s SLAM team. Thanks, Emilia!

Matthew 9: 27-31

In this Gospel Reading we are introduced to two blind men who had great faith in Jesus that He can truly heal them. Jesus asked them if they believe that He can heal them, and they answered yes. Jesus then said, “Let it be done for you according to your faith.” The blind men were healed. This is truly an amazing testimony of how powerful faith in Jesus can be.

In this passage, Jesus sternly tells the blind men not to tell anyone of the miracle, and yet they still do. I do not think that the men were completely disobedient to Jesus. They simply were overjoyed because of the miracle and they wanted to spread the Good News. Sometimes we in our lives do not fully listen to what Jesus tells us to do or not to do. And sometimes we do it because we are simply overjoyed and we believe that we are doing it for a good reason. However, we must learn to be patient and humble and do what Jesus asks of us. I can definitely relate to the two blind men in this passage.

Singing has always been a passion of mine and continues to be. However, for several years during high school, I had severe vocal health problems that made it hard for me not only to sing but also to even talk. There were times when I just wanted to give up and quit singing forever. However, I placed my trust completely in Jesus and He healed me. Today I am majoring in Music and I can never thank God enough for healing me. This scripture reading reminded me of that difficult time in my life and how amazing God’s love for us is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

