Skip to content

Lighting the Way by Becca Komperda

December 13, 2013

Becca Komperda, a senior SLAMer, wrote the following reflection. Thanks, Becca! 

Is 48:17-19

Throughout many moments of our lives as well as in scripture, a common lesson taught is to listen to and follow the commandments given by God. However, how many of us can honestly admit to taking this into consideration and having it as a thought while making decisions? One thing we must remember is that no matter what, God will lead us the way we should go. I am not saying he is going to show us a map with directions, nor the yellow brick road in the Wizard of Oz, but he can lead us the way through his presence in our minds and hearts, helping us discover what we are being called to do.  This path may not always be clear nor will it always be easy but along the way we need to have faith that God will light the way for us.

In the beginning of my first year here at Dominican, I came in with a plan, an agenda and a time line that I was determined to abide by so help me God. Little did I realize that God has his own plan for me.  It was not an easy plan to accept nor was it easy to recognize and let go and let God, but I finally did it. Now that I am a senior I have realized that God has been next to be the whole way, shining a flash light.  I realized that God was the one lighting the way because who else would have?  Although I did not always make time for him nor did, I always listen to him when I heard him in my mind and heart but through it all, I have faith that he was present, because I felt him within me.  God let me make my mistakes and make my own realization but no matter what he helped to veer me back onto the path that is destined for me. As the Lord said in Is 48:17-19, “I, the LORD, your God, teach you what is for your good, and lead you on the way you should go”.

As you go home for break, I would challenge you to think about the God that is with you and guiding your life journey.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

