Skip to content

Beautiful Acts of Joy by Margret Rozko

December 22, 2013

The following reflection was shared by Margret Rozko, a senior in the Student Leadership and Ministry program. 

Song of Songs 2:8-14

What a great first reading to reflect upon during the Advent season! “My lover speaks and says to me  “Arise, my friend, my beautiful one, and come!” Everyone knows that Advent is a time of waiting and patience. But what if we were to see the opposite side of the spectrum? What if we were to arise, be beautiful, and come?

Personally, I find Advent to be a time of serene  reflection , patience, and silence. I am challenging myself to go wherever I am called, in an radiant way. My goal is not only to reflect, but to do. I may be called to serve others on the streets during the cold Advent season. Instead of making this season about myself, I can come to those and reach out with a meal, simply through my car window. I am planning on “coming” and reaching out to the underprivileged by volunteering my time on Christmas Eve. My Polish folklore dance group will perform for the homeless during a Christmas Eve meal.

“See! He is standing behind our wall, gazing through the windows, peering through the lattices.” God is watching us at all times and shares in our joy. Let us be excited for the birth of our Lord and share our exuberance not only with loved ones, but also with those who need us to reach out and come to them in a beautiful, but quiet way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

