Skip to content

The World Begins Again by Katie Fox

March 17, 2014

Student leader Katie Fox writes our second Sunday of Lent reflection on the process of RETURN.

“I am grateful to God—whom I worship with a clear conscience, as my ancestors
did—when I remember you constantly in my prayers night and day. Recalling
your tears, I long to see you so that I may be filled with joy.” -Timothy 1:3-4

I think that sometimes it’s easy to put our faith on the back burner, or to turn away from God when our lives get hectic and worrisome. This lent we are called to return, in whatever way you need to, whether it be to your family, to your friends, to God.

Although I am in SLAM, and active in our faith community I have recently found myself in the same situation as many, needing to revisit my faith after a period of doubt brought on by a few challenging months. Something that I have been reflecting on as I think about the idea of “return,” is that although I sometimes feel that God has left me, that has never been the case in the end. As I think about my life, the trying times, the times filled with joy I am able to see God in those places. I firmly believe that we are given different challenges in our lives in order to strengthen, not test our faith. That is something we can all remember when we are in our own places of doubt.

So I guess this brings about the question “how do we return after these times of doubt?” I think we just have to do the best we can. I like to think that God is understanding, and that when I am ready to move forward or return to my faith that things will resume where I left off.

I often find myself expressing my thoughts through music. The link below is for a song called “Better Days,” by the Goo Goo Dolls. The chorus goes “so take these words, and sing out loud/’cause everyone is forgiven now/’cause tonight’s the night the world begins again.” So what are you waiting for? Go trustingly in yourself and in your faith, and make your return.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

